Review of Developing Android Applications with Flex 4.5 | Rich Tretola

I am the curious minded and for me, looking to play with the Android SDK has been on my to-do-list for a while. I did review an Android book by O’Reilly a few weeks back, but it was through the use of Java and the Android SDK officially. As a Flex developer by background, I have been eagerly awaiting this book,Developing Android Applications with Flex 4.5 by Rich Tretola, as it gives me the chance to experiment with Flash Builder 4.5 and creating Android applications with the more familiar Flex.

This book is quite concise, in fact lets you get rolling right away, which is great, considering the amount of concise and centralised information for Flex Mobile 4.5 is hard to come by, they are mostly scattered, and yeah we are still in the infancy of building Flex mobile apps. Nevertheless, this book gives you great gusto starting with the first chapter which gets you starter, then progresses to how to lay out the application, working with various UI controls, then getting hooked into the physical attributes of the phone, such as GPS, Accelerometer and Camera Roll, and concluding with how to publish the app finally. 

I enjoyed this book, it’s a concise reference and I hope there will be more development in the Flex sphere, to allow this to be a genuine stream of Android development. I actually hope there is an iOS version of this book, using Flex, which would be a great complement. But otherwise, this book get’s my tick of approval, really great, enjoyable to read and for the busy man that I am, finished it in a day! Wohah.

Bkt
This entry was posted in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

