Review of Learning Android | By Marko Gargenta

Learning Android is my first foray into learning native Android development. I was really taken aback by the style and structure of the book, as the author based each of the modules/chapters around a major project application, Twitter that you would create. He would then iteratively create a more improved version of the app, as you learn more and more things. I found this method to be a stellar way of learning, and something others should be doing, for other books and languages.

My Java side isn't really as strong, and for me, I felt I may have needed to put my head into a Java book or two prior, but overall, I found the book to be concise enough that you won't get sidetracked by concepts you won't really use or need, yet you get enough detail to point you in the right direction to get the right API to further develop a specific area. I haven't read any other non-Flex android development book to compare this to, but as a newby, I can tell you this book provides a solid foundation for you to evolve your android learning experience.

I still consider myself an iOS developer, but with a keen interest in having auxiliary knowledge in other mobile technologies. This book definitely provides that, and if you have a solid Java background, you would appreciate the level of this book as well, but applying general OOP knowledge does suffice in most instances. 

Learning Android

Learning Android


This entry was posted in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

